31 Days of Albums

Music has always been a big part of my life, and was one of my favorite things on the Appalachian Trail. I sang aloud often, joined in campfire sing-a-longs and made it an everyday occurrence.

March is Music in the Schools month. I learned to play my first instrument, the violin thanks to my school’s music program. It exposed me to music I’d never really heard before, introduced me to people I’d never met that could reach through hundreds of years to touch me in my mind and in my heart. As I grew my tastes may have changed, but my respect and love for music and the artists who create it never has dimmed.

So for March I’m going to be listening to an album a day. An album I’ve never listened to before. An album others think is important, good music from all genres. An album that may have changed someone else’s life at some point, or saved them for themselves. The album I feel is a dying art – we live in a world of singles now and the whole story seems forgotten most days. So I’m going to listen to it from start to finish.

So I’d like to ask for YOUR help dear readers. I’d like you to suggest an album for me to listen to during these 31 days. An album you love from an artist who you enjoy. An album that may mean something special to you – maybe it was the one you had on in your car when you kissed that special person for the first time. Maybe it was the one you didn’t take off the record player for 3 days when it was the darkest point in your life. Maybe it’s the seminal work from your favorite band. I want you to tell me to listen to that album.

You can email me the album name and artist, or leave it here in the comments. You can even tell me why you are recomending it, or what your story of that album is. If you really want to, you can even write me a short bit detailing it – I’ll put it up here. Because every album I listen to, everyday, I’m going to talk a little bit about it.

You can feel it moving your body and soul

Because music opens up a window to your soul

About Doc Spice

I walked around 4,000 miles between 2012 and 2013 on the Appalachian Trail. A time of discovery, life, joy and pain. Now I'm a hometown adventurer, explorer of the alley around the corner, the national park up the road, the next long hike and the beautiful, intelligent woman I talk to a lot. I'm a little crazy. But I think that's ok.

Posted on 02/25/2014, in 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. singlegirlhiking

    Ace of Base, “The Sign.” Oh baby.

  2. Tally Hall, “Marvin’s Marvelous Mechanical Museum.” A lot of the songs are pretty silly, but they come across as genuine nonetheless. “Spring and a Storm” is one of my favorite songs, and it’s about the unappreciated beauty of nature, at least to me. Oh, and “Banana Man” is about bananas. As a metaphor for life.

  3. Ben Howard-Every Kingdom
    In The Aeroplane Ove The Sea-Neutral Milk Hotel

  1. Pingback: 31 Days: #1 – Massive Attack: Protection | Adventures with Spice

  2. Pingback: 31 Days: #2 – Tom Waits: Closing Time | Adventures with Spice

Leave a Reply

