Embrace The Brutality

All books about hiking suck

-Johnny Thunder

The same can usually be said about movies. I mean lets face it – who really wants to read about the daily grind that hikers have  – we get up, we eat, we fart, we walk a bunch and then we eat some more. Sometimes we see things – usually we just eat more. Then we go to sleep.

We’re living the life!

When you see it onscreen it can be the same thing – boring. Sometimes to the point of being painful. I’ve seen more than a few movies and documentaries, and especially books that make me wonder what the point was. Reading or watching them is like pulling teeth. Painful.

Luckily I have a remedy for you… TBW Productions! Run by Jester! A Triple Crowner with a good camera hand and editing skills, a love of cheese and a wicked sense of humor.

I was lucky enough to see his newest film, “Embrace the Brutality” about the CDT (Continental Divide Trail) in Duncannon, PA at the Billville Hiker Feed and loved it.

I bought it when I got home to watch again, along with his first film, “Wizard of the PCT.”

It gave me itchy feet. It made me want to hike again. To forget all the pain in my knee and take off like a lunatic.

ETB is one of the better trail films of late in my opinion, and certainly much better than any of the books I’ve seen. It focuses on the things that matter – the hikers and what they do. Anyone can write about how much the weather sucked, or how many miles they did. They can show you pictures and movies of all the pretty sights – and this movie does that. But to show the soul of a long distance trail, you have to talk to the people.

It helps that all the people he hikes with are hilarious and full of wacky antics. They aren’t putting a show on for the camera either – they are just like this on a normal basis.

I could go on at length about this. I won’t. Instead I suggest you go out and buy this. I think that it’s well worth the price – and it certainly helps fill the void that winter leaves in you.

Head on over to http://www.tbwproductions.com/ and join the zany crew of Team Bad Wizard as they tackle the CDT – and even the PCT!

About Doc Spice

I walked around 4,000 miles between 2012 and 2013 on the Appalachian Trail. A time of discovery, life, joy and pain. Now I'm a hometown adventurer, explorer of the alley around the corner, the national park up the road, the next long hike and the beautiful, intelligent woman I talk to a lot. I'm a little crazy. But I think that's ok.

Posted on 12/28/2013, in Hiker Stories. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I happen to have a lot of time on my hands so I just ordered both. If they suck, I’m expecting $36 worth of entertainment from you. 😛

    • If, for whatever reason you are not fully $36 satisfied, either Jester or I will dance funny dances for you!

      And/or we can just bank it away for trail magic you’ll encounter from Billville along the way 🙂

  2. As much as I would like to lie for the promise of funny dances, I really liked both of them. Thanks for spreading the word.

Leave a Reply

