Falling in Love While Traveling

http://www.reddit.com/r/travel/comments/1t7tav/falling_in_love_with_a_danish_girl_while_traveling/

This was on Reddit today. It really moved me.

Love is such a powerful and beautiful thing. You’ll do all kinds of things for the person you love – and when they love you back they do the same.

I don’t know if I believe in the idea of “one true love” – it’s a hard thing to really accept, given just how many people there are in the world… but I do believe in True Love.

I’ve felt love. It was wonderful. It was beautiful. It was painful. It was heartbreaking when it was over.

But what I learned from all of that, from loving someone so much that I gave things up I wanted dearly, changed my hike for them and then tried my hardest to better for them, was that it’s worth it. Love is worth all the pain and suffering that can come from it. Because even if you only have it for a moment, it’s a special thing.

You don’t have that love just through yourself. You have it together with another person. So if you have someone out there you love – run to them! Get on a plane, a bus, a train. Jump in your car and drive all night. Make that effort to be with them. They’re worth it.

Sometimes, a grand romantic gesture is just what the world needs.

Sometimes you just need to be with that person you love – no matter what the cost.

And sometimes you lose it

Sometimes you find your heart and love on the trail.

A friend once told me that she learned to love again thanks to the AT. I did as well. It’s something I’ll always cherish that, and the person who taught me to love again.

 

What are you doing still reading this? Go! Run to your love. Or at least call them!

About Doc Spice

I walked around 4,000 miles between 2012 and 2013 on the Appalachian Trail. A time of discovery, life, joy and pain. Now I'm a hometown adventurer, explorer of the alley around the corner, the national park up the road, the next long hike and the beautiful, intelligent woman I talk to a lot. I'm a little crazy. But I think that's ok.

Posted on 12/20/2013, in Post AT '13 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

